It’s yet another change that keep iPhone owners inside Apple’s ecosystem. Thanks to a change on Apple’s part, you’ll be basically left with a permanent warning message if you do. The only way to make the service message go away? Take the phone to an Apple store or Apple-authorized service center, where they can flip whatever software switch needs to be reset.
Found at arstechnica.com