The Apple NameDrop feature is a new way to share contact information between two iPhones. It’s great, and high tech, but because people don’t always understand tech, this past week, some ill-informed police departments stokes some paranoia. Quick notes to set you at ease if you hear of this… First, the two phones must be nearly touching, with Bluetooth on. You have to login, and then both phones will be presented with options, and both parties must choose the next options to share or receive only. Once they are separated, the connection is cut. So many layers of protection, that your personal information has no path of sharing without your knowledge or consent.

Despite warnings from local police departments and TikTok accounts, and the fact that it’s turned on by default, Apple’s NameDrop is not a major safety threat.

Found at www.pcmag.com